Why Medicine?

 

“Why medicine?” is a difficult question I have persistently asked myself. “Why not a teacher, firefighter, or even an astronaut?” each of these provide immense job satisfaction, bringing me to enquire why I aspire to become a fully competent doctor. After thoroughly sifting through the general cliché responses, and reviewing my motives for determining to venture into a career that demands total dedication, I concluded that medicine is definitely unrivalled. The study and philosophy of medicine is a passion for the survival of the human race. By utilizing pioneering technology, applying daily-evolving research, and principally, ensuring high quality patient care, medicine is my sole ambition.

It’s been once quoted that: “The art of medicine consists of amusing the patient while nature cures the disease.” Medicine is a vital part of everyone’s lives. My reasons for choosing to study medicine are simple due to my love for humanity, and desire to gain more knowledge about the human body and how it functions. I wouldn’t call myself a philanthropist, but to bring happiness and health to patients’ day to day would be life changing.

 

Stethoscope

By Seyanu

Leave a Reply

